NaPoWriMo: April 2 – Sundogs

For my first poem for NaPoWriMo (National Poem Writing Month) challenge I wanted to write about SUNDOGS. Capitalized here because I stumbled upon this word while playing Words With Friends, and then wanted to know what it was. As it turns out, sundogs are “ghost suns” caused by icy crystals in the air acting as prisms and creating additional images of the sun in the sky. Check out Wikipedia for some great images, and historical references to how ancient people thought they were either bad omens, or good omens, depending on their personal outlook on life.

I knew I wanted to write a poem about sundogs, which got me thinking about what they meant to me. I latched onto the idea of the pagan/spiritual “familiar”, which is, typically, an animal spirit. I also thought about how pets are a form of “familiar”, and that often pets look like their owners, and how people latch onto things that feel more “familiar”.

which is a whole lot of backstory for a very short poem:

sundogs

look at their faces,
and i see my own.
look into their eyes,
i see mine reflected.
the devil gave them
to do my bidding.
they flank my sides,
faithful and loyal.
they rise with me
in the morning,
and return to earth
with me at night.

 

One thought on “NaPoWriMo: April 2 – Sundogs

  1. Dear Michael
    Wonderful to have You back in poetry.
    You know I lost Torben , wish I could poeticize ” my emotions Love Lise

Leave a Reply

