NaPoWriMo: April 3 – Secrets

I was enjoying a Sister Spit performance at UCR tonight, which connected me with a memory about chalkboards, and how sometimes people write their secrets on them, secrets they can’t hold inside of them any longer for fear they will split in two.

secrets

Jeg går i seng med min lærer

someone thought they were sneaky,
writing their secret in Danish
on a study lounge chalkboard
at the university where i work.
i chuckle and helpfully
translate it to english
just below:

I am sleeping with my teacher

i wish i could have seen
their face when they saw it.
years later,
i wrote my own secret
on a different chalkboard:

My mother died two weeks ago,
I still cry every day.

it doesn’t need translation,
i wish i could have seen
the moment when someone
had the strength to erase it.
maybe it would help me forget
watching her slip away.

One thought on “NaPoWriMo: April 3 – Secrets

Leave a Reply

