Stamped Deep

This is a writing exercise to write about an object we found that led to us learning something about someone we hadn’t known before.

–Stamped Deep–

Lt. Col. John Thomas. The black letters stamped deep into the silver bracelet stood out as a name not known to me.

I learned that my mother was once in love.

I learned he died in the Vietnam war and left her heartbroken.

I learned that she tried to comfort herself by drinking and dancing.

I learned that is how she met my father.

I learned that is how she became pregnant.

I learned that is why they got married.

I learned that she would dream about Lt. Col. John Thomas every night, but that there was always some obstacle keeping her from reaching him, and that she would wake up in tears.

I learned that my mother never really loved my father.

I learned that 40 years later he would still be in her dreams.

I learned why my mother was always so sad.

Lt. Col. John Thomas. The black letters stamped deep into the silver bracelet stood out as a name not known to me.

 

Leave a Reply

